Jury Services at Sparks Justice Court
"I consider trial by jury as the only anchor yet imagined by man, by which a government can be held to the principles of its constitution." -Thomas Jefferson
Answering the call for jury service from State Courts on Vimeo.
Sparks Justice Court shares a jury case management system with the Second Judicial District Court. Second Judicial District Court summons and maintains a list of eligible jurors within Washoe County. If you have been summoned for jury service by the Second Judicial District Court, Washoe County, please complete the questionnaire and return it in the postage-paid envelope. Retain the top portion, "NOTICE TO EMPLOYER"; this should be given to your place of employment, supervisor, or Human Resources Department.
You will receive an appearance notification card approximately 10 days before your reporting date from Sparks Justice Court. Please read the instructions on the postcard carefully.
To qualify as a prospective juror for Sparks Justice Court, you are required to:
- Be 18 years or older
- Be a citizen of the United States
- Be a resident of Washoe County
- Be without a felony conviction, unless your civil rights have been restored
- Understand the English language
Legal Exemptions from Jury Service
Per Nevada Revised Statute 6.020, upon satisfactory proof, made by affidavit or otherwise, the following named persons, and no others, are exempt from jury service:
- While the Legislature is in session, any member of the Legislature or any employee of the Legislature or the Legislative Counsel Bureau.
- Any person who has a fictitious address pursuant to Nevada Revised Statute 217.0462 to Nevada Revised Statute 217.471, inclusive.
- All persons of the age of 70 years or older are exempt from serving as jurors.
- Peace officers, as defined per Nevada Revised Statute 617.135.
You must state on your questionnaire if you wish to exercise an exemption; they are not automatic.
Term of Service
The Sparks Justice Court is a one-day/one-trial jury system, which means barring extraordinary circumstances, if you are not selected to sit as a juror, your jury service will be completed in one day. If you are selected to sit as a juror, you must report each day for the duration of the trial; e.g., one trial. You may be required to call for reporting information over a two-week period; however, you will only appear for service for one day or serve on one trial. Once your jury obligation is completed, you will be released for a period of two (2) years.
Jurors are required to telephone or email to a pre-recorded message to obtain reporting information. If your services are not required per the recorded instructions the first week, you may be automatically rescheduled; the court will notify you if this occurs.
The average trial length at Sparks Justice Court will be 1-2 days.
On your reporting day, please be prepared to be at the courthouse at approximately 8:00 a.m. Jury selection can take from one (1) to three (3) hours. If you are selected, you'll be expected to stay for the duration of the trial.
Per Nevada Revised Statute 6.150, Jurors receive payment only if they are selected to serve on a jury.
Jurors are paid $40.00 a day for jury service.
Jurors will be paid by check within 4 - 6 weeks of jury service.
You are required to wear proper clothing to Court. No shorts, halter tops, muscle shirts, tank tops, hats, or jogging suits are permitted.
The temperature of the courtrooms may fluctuate. Jurors are encouraged to dress accordingly.
Breaks and Lunch
You may bring your own drinking water or water bottle, but no glass containers. Break and lunch times are determined by the Court. Please bring a lunch. The court has a refrigerator and microwave available for juror use.
Please do not bring your children to Court. You should make all personal, family, and business arrangements prior to reporting so that you are prepared for the requirement of jury service.
On the first day of service, you may be called as early as 7:30 a.m. and must be prepared to remain at the courthouse until you are dismissed for the day. You are welcome to bring a book, magazine, or personal work with you. However, local newspapers are not allowed because they may contain information about a pending trial.
The use of social media while on jury service is also not permitted while serving on jury duty and not permitted if selected as a juror throughout the duration of the trial.
Jury Services Department
- Phone Number: (775) 353-7676 (message only line)
- Email: SJCJury@washoecounty.us
Hours of Operation:
- Monday-Thursday: 7:30 a.m.-5:00 p.m. (closed for lunch from noon-1 pm)
- Friday: 7:30am-12:00 pm
- Closed on holidays