Personal Property Mobile Homes
A mobile home is defined as "a vehicular structure, built on a chassis or frame, which is designed to be used with or without a permanent foundation and is capable of being drawn by a motor vehicle. It may be used as a dwelling when connected to utilities or may be used permanently or temporarily for the advertising, sales, display, or promotion of merchandise or services." (NRS 361.029) Manufactured homes are similarly designed but comply with the National Manufactured Housing Construction and Safety Standards Act of 1974 which became effective in the 1976 model year. (NRS 489.113)
In determining the value of a mobile/manufactured home for assessment purposes, Nevada Administrative Code requires the Assessor to adjust the original retail selling price of the home by factors found in the Personal Property Manual. (NAC 361.130) The manual is prepared annually by the State of Nevada’s Department of Taxation, Division of Local Government Services. The factors include a cost index and rates of depreciation. For additions and accessories the Assessor uses replacement cost new less depreciation. (NRS 361.227) The rate of assessment is 35% of the calculated taxable value. (NRS 361.225)
For fiscal year 2022/2023 the Assessor’s office appraised 8,397 mobile/manufactured homes with a total assessed value of about $35 million.
Using fiscal year 2023/2024 factors, an example of the calculation of assessed value for a typical post- 1982 manufactured home is shown below.
|2018 Fleetwood: Original Dealer’s Report of Sale (DRS) =||$79,559|
|1085 square foot wood deck built 2018: Replacement Cost New (RCN) =||$22,318|
|DRS $79,559 multiplied by Conversion Factor of .9675 =||$76,973|
|Wood covered porch RCN $22,318 multiplied by Percent Good Factor of .75 =||$16,739|
|Total Taxable Value =||$93,712|
|Assessment Ratio X||.35|
|Total Assessed Value =||$32,799|
The Assessor does not issue tax bills or receive tax payments. These functions are carried out by the Washoe County Treasurer’s Office. Taxes for mobile/manufactured homes are billed once each year and have the same due dates as real property taxes. Any tax amount over $100 may be broken into installments. (NRS 361.483) Tax bills under $100 are payable in one installment; dates are printed on the tax bill. For information on delinquent tax bills and payment procedures, please contact the Washoe County Treasurer’s Office at (775) 328-2510