Reno Justice Court holds jury trials on misdemeanor Domestic Violence cases based upon the Nevada Supreme Court opinion from September 12, 2019. If you have received a blue summons card from the Reno Justice Court, please call 775-325-6522 the night prior to the reporting date indicated on your summons card to confirm date and time of arrival, please listen to the entire message as it may have important information. You may also contact the court at RenoJusticeCourtJury@washoecounty.gov if you have any questions regarding your service.
*Please be aware several courts may be holding Jury Trials at the same time in the downtown area. If you’ve received a blue summons card you are to report to Reno Justice Court at 1 S. Sierra Street Reno, Nevada*
Per Nevada Revised Statute 6.010, "Every qualified elector of the state whether registered or not who has sufficient knowledge of the English language, and who has not been convicted of treason, felony, or other infamous crime, and who is not rendered incapable by reason of physical or mental infirmity, is a qualified juror of the county in which he resides."
You are qualified to serve as a juror if:
- You are at least 18
- You are a U.S. citizen
- You are a Washoe County resident
- You have been convicted of a felony and your civil rights have been restored
If you are an ex-felon with your civil rights restored please indicate on the questionnaire that your civil rights have been restored.
Legal Exemptions From Jury Service
Per Nevada Revised Statute 6.020
Upon satisfactory proof, made by affidavit or otherwise, the following named persons, and no others, are exempt from service as grand or trial jurors:
- While the Legislature is in session, any member of the Legislature or any employee of the Legislature or the Legislative Counsel Bureau
- Any person who has a fictitious address pursuant to Nevada Revised Statute 217.0462 to Nevada Revised Statute 217.471, inclusive.
- All persons of the age of 70 years or older are exempt from serving as grand or trial jurors.
- Peace officers, as defined per Nevada Revised Statute 617.135
You must state on your questionnaire if you wish to exercise an exemption; they are not automatic.
Per Nevada Revised Statute 6.150, Jurors receive payment only if they are selected to serve on a jury.
Jurors are paid $40.00 a day for jury service.
Jurors will be paid by check within 4 - 6 weeks of jury service
Juror attire should reflect the dignity and professionalism of the court. Please do not wear shorts, tank tops or sweatpants. Sweatshirts or tee shirts with any offensive pictures or statements printed on them should not be worn to court.
The temperature of the courtrooms may fluctuate. Jurors are encouraged to dress accordingly.