About the Washoe County Health District

By the authority established through Nevada Revised Statute (NRS 439.370 et seqq) and the 1986 Interlocal Agreement (last amended 1993), the Washoe County Health District has jurisdiction over all public health matters in Reno, Sparks, and Washoe County through the policy-making Washoe County District Board of Health.

The Washoe County Health District consists of the following five divisions:

Administrative Health Services (AHS)

The Administrative Health Services Division (AHS) oversees financial management and budgeting, grants management, information technology, personnel and payroll.

Air Quality Management (AQM)

The Air Quality Management Division is responsible for controlling sources of air pollution and assuring compliance with federal, state, and local environmental laws governing air quality.

Community and Clinical Health Services (CCHS)

Community and Clinical Health Services focuses on disease prevention, community and individual education and wellness. Programs within CCHS are: Chronic Disease Prevention, Immunizations, Maternal Child Health, Tuberculosis, WIC, and Sexual Health which includes Family Planning, HIV and STD services.

Environmental Health Services (EHS)

Environmental Health Services, leads the team that ensures compliance with local, state and federal laws regulating food, waste, water, vector and other areas of public health in Washoe County. The many programs under the EHS umbrella have an emphasis on enforcement, but also have a strong education component, promoting a collaborative approach with industry to meet established public health goals at the local and national levels.

Epidemiology and Public Health Preparedness (EPHP)

Coordinates activities relating to public health emergency preparedness and response. Develops and integrates public health data available to the Washoe County Health District to better support the core functions of public health: assessment, policy development and assurance.