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Washoe County  
Medical Marijuana Establishment 

Business License 
Common Questions 

1. What is a medical marijuana establishment? 

The Nevada State Constitution authorizes patients, on the advice and with written 
authorization of their physicians, to obtain and use marijuana for medical purposes.  State 
Law and County Code provide for four types of establishments to provide medical 
marijuana: 

 Facility for the production of edible marijuana products or marijuana-infused 
products.  This facility acquires, manufactures, delivers, supplies or sells edible 
marijuana products or marijuana-infused products to medical marijuana 
dispensaries.  These facilities are not open to the public. 

 Medical marijuana cultivation facility.  A cultivation facility acquires, cultivates, 
delivers, supplies or sells marijuana and related supplies to other medical 
marijuana establishments.  These facilities are not open to the public. 

 Medical marijuana dispensary.  A dispensary delivers or sells marijuana or related 
supplies and educational materials to patients or care givers with a valid Nevada 
medical marijuana identification card.  The Nevada Division of Public and 
Behavioral Health may authorize patients or caregivers with valid medical 
marijuana identification cards from other States to receive medical marijuana 
under specified situations. 

 Medical marijuana independent testing laboratory.  A testing laboratory tests 
marijuana, edible marijuana products and marijuana-infused products that are to 
be sold in Nevada.  These facilities are not open to the public. 

2. Do I need a license to operate a medical marijuana establishment in unincorporated 
Washoe County? 

Yes.  However, you must obtain a provisional registration certificate from the Nevada 
Division of Public and Behavioral Health before you can apply for a Washoe County 
business license. 

3. How do I obtain a provisional registration certificate? 

You must apply directly to the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health.  That 
State Division is part of the Nevada Department of Health and Human Services.  The 
Division maintains a web page exclusively for its medical marijuana program at 
health.nv.gov/medicalmarijuana.htm.  The Division also maintains frequently asked 
questions on the medical marijuana establishment program on its web page at 
health.nv.gov/MedicalMarijuana/MME_FAQs.pdf.  
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The State Division’s medical marijuana establishment program offices are located at 4150 
Technology Way, Suite 200 in Carson City.  Their telephone number is 775.684.3487.  
Their e-mail address is medicalmarijuana@health.nv.gov. 

The Division will advertise the annual 10 day application period at least 45 days before the 
application period commences.  You will be required to submit your State Division 
application within that 10 day period.  The State Division will evaluate all medical 
marijuana establishment applications after the application period closes, and will provide 
a ranked listing of qualified establishments within 90 days.  Qualified medical marijuana 
establishment applicants will then be provided with a provisional State registration 
certificate.   

You must provide a copy of the provisional registration certificate with your Washoe 
County medical marijuana establishment business license application.  Your Washoe 
County business license application cannot be accepted without a copy of the certificate. 

If you are licensed by Washoe County, then you must provide proof of that licensure to 
the State Division.  The State should then issue the State registration certificate for your 
medical marijuana establishment. 

4. I must provide a local jurisdiction’s zoning verification and/or public safety approval of 
my proposed medical marijuana establishment business as part of the State application 
process.  How do I obtain that approval? 

The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health requires zoning verification of your 
proposed medical marijuana establishment as part of the initial application for a 
registration certificate.  Washoe County will provide a Potential MME Zoning Information 
Letter to satisfy this requirement for properties located in the unincorporated County and 
outside of an exerted sphere of influence (see more information below).  You should 
contact: 

 Washoe County Planning & Development Division, Community Services 
Department.  Their offices are located at 1001 East Ninth Street, Building A, 
Second Floor in Reno.  Their telephone number is 775.328.3600. 

Exerted Sphere of Influence properties.  Certain areas of unincorporated Washoe County 
are within the exerted sphere of influence for either the City of Reno or the City of Sparks.  
These sphere areas are required by the Truckee Meadows Regional Plan and governed by 
an interlocal agreement.  Developments within a sphere of influence must obtain any 
planning approvals from the appropriate City.  This means that any zoning verification of 
your proposed medical marijuana establishment must be obtained from the appropriate 
City if your proposed location is within an exerted sphere of influence.  Washoe County 
planning staff will assist you to determine if your proposed location is within such a 
sphere area. 

 For areas within the City of Reno’s exerted sphere of influence, contact the City of 
Reno Building, Planning and Engineering Division, Community Development 
Department.  Their offices are located at 1 East First Street, Second Floor in Reno.  
Their telephone number is 775.321.8309.  The City of Reno will charge $ 500 for 
the zoning verification letter. 
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 For areas within the City of Sparks’ exerted sphere of influence, contact the City of 
Sparks Planning/Zoning Division, Community Services Department.  Their offices 
are located at 431 Prater Way in Sparks.  Their telephone number is 775.353.2340.  
The City of Sparks will charge $ 80.50 for the zoning verification letter. 

The Division will not issue its registration certificate until you provide proof that your 
proposed medical marijuana establishment is in full compliance with and completion of all 
applicable local jurisdiction public safety inspections.  You should contact the following 
Washoe County public safety agency for information to satisfy this requirement: 

 Washoe County Building & Safety Division, Community Services Department.  
Their offices are located at 1001 East Ninth Street, Building A, Second Floor in 
Reno.  Their telephone number is 775.328.2020. 

 Fire agencies: 

o Lake Tahoe basin:  North Lake Tahoe Fire Protection District.  Their offices 
are located at 866 Oriole Way in Incline Village.  Their telephone number is 
775.831.0351. 

o All other areas of unincorporated Washoe County:  Truckee Meadows Fire 
Protection District.  Their offices are located at 1001 East Ninth Street in 
Reno.  Their telephone number is 775.326.6000. 

 Washoe County Environmental Health Services Division, Heath District.  Their 
offices are located at 1001 East Ninth Street, Building B, Second Floor in Reno.  
Their telephone number is 775.328.2434. 

 Washoe County Air Quality Management Division, Health District.  Their offices are 
located at 1001 East Ninth Street, Building B, Suite 171 in Reno.  Their telephone 
number is 775.328.7200. 

Buildings location within the City of Reno’s exerted sphere of influence.  If the building 
you propose to use for the medical marijuana establishment is within the City of Reno’s 
exerted sphere of influence, you should contact the City of Reno for public safety agency 
information on the building: 

 City of Reno Building, Planning and Engineering Division, Community Development 
Department.  Their offices are located at 1 East First Street, Second Floor in Reno.  
Their telephone number is 775.334.2063. 

5. I have my provisional State registration certificate.  How do I obtain a Washoe County 
business license? 

You must apply for a Washoe County medical marijuana establishment business license.  
This is a revocable privilege business license issued specifically for medical marijuana 
establishments.  Each type of medical marijuana establishment requires a separate 
Washoe County medical marijuana establishment business license.  The business license is 
valid for one year and must be renewed annually (see question 9).  The medical marijuana 
establishment business license application packet contains all of the information required 
for your license application.  In summary, you must submit: 

 A copy of your valid provisional State registration certificate. 

 A completed Washoe County medical marijuana establishment application form. 
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 A copy of your State Division medical marijuana establishment application (with a 
few exceptions noted in the application packet). 

 A list of persons associated with your medical marijuana establishment who have 
been issued, or will be issued, a State medical marijuana establishment agent 
registration card. 

 A site plan of your medical marijuana establishment.  Details of the information to 
include with the site plan are contained in the application packet.   

 The name and physical address of any other medical marijuana establishments 
within Washoe County in which you (or any owner, officer, manager or director of 
your establishment) have ownership interest in, or a contractual relationship with, 
or otherwise associated with. 

 A certificate signed and attested by you that the establishment meets the distance 
requirements established in Washoe County Code.  The application packet 
contains more details on this certificate. 

 The names and locations of the cultivation facility and independent testing 
laboratory providing services for your establishment (if applicable). 

 A description of all regulated toxic, flammable or other materials used in or kept at 
your establishment.  The application packet provides more details on the 
information required as part of the description. 

 An approved Washoe County Air Quality Management Division plan for your 
establishment. 

 A copy of the lease, rental agreement, license or authorization from the property 
owner on which your establishment is located (if you are not the property owner) 
giving you permission to use the property for use as a medical marijuana 
establishment.  You must also include information on the property owner (see the 
application packet for details). 

Before your Washoe County business license can be issued, you must also obtain: 

 An approved Industrial Waste Permit from the Washoe County Environmental 
Health Services Division. 

 A commercial kitchen permit from the Washoe County Environmental Health 
Services Division if your establishment produces edible or drinkable marijuana 
products. 

If a criminal history inquiry is required of the property owner, the business license cannot 
be issued until results from the inquiry are received and evaluated by the Washoe County 
license division. 

Your medical marijuana establishment business license application will be reviewed by 
several agencies.  The agency may charge separate review or permitting fees, and it is 
your responsibility to pay any such fees.  These agencies include: 

 Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District or North Lake Tahoe Fire Protection 
District. 

 Washoe County Community Services Department: 



Washoe County MME Common Questions June 2014 page 5 

o Building and Safety Division; 

o Engineering and Capital Projects Division; and, 

o Planning & Development Division. 

 Washoe County Health District: 

o Air Quality Management Division; and, 

o Environmental Health Services Division. 

 Washoe County Sheriff’s Office. 

 Any appropriate water and/or sanitary sewer service provider. 

 City of Reno staff if the proposed location is within Reno’s exerted sphere of 
influence for the following: 

o Zoning verification; 

o Signage; 

o Distance restrictions;  and, 

o Commercial building standards. 

 City of Sparks staff if the proposed location is within Sparks’ exerted sphere of 
influence for the following: 

o Zoning verification;  and, 

o Distance restrictions. 

Conditions may be established on your business license by any of these reviewing 
agencies and/or by the Washoe County license division.  You must pay all applicable 
business license and agency license/permit and/or inspection fees prior to issuance of 
your business license. 

The Washoe County license division will issue your business license after all review and 
inspections have been successfully completed, after receiving positive results from any 
required criminal history inquiry, and after all fees have been paid. 

You must provide a copy of your issued Washoe County business license to the Nevada 
Division of Public and Behavioral Health.  The State Division should then issue your State 
registration certificate. 

Medical marijuana establishments must be fully certified by the Nevada Division of Public 
and Behavioral Health and licensed by Washoe County before commencing business 
operations in unincorporated Washoe County.  Additionally, the establishment must meet 
all local jurisdiction public safety standards and operating requirements prior to 
commencing business operations.  Businesses and other organizations or individuals 
operating without the required certificates, permits or licenses are subject to 
enforcement actions. 

6. Is the Washoe County business license all that is required from Washoe County to 
operate a medical marijuana establishment? 

No.  Refer to question 5 for Washoe County Health District permits and for other County 
agency approvals required for a medical marijuana establishment.   
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7. Are there any requirements for employees or volunteers working at a medical 
marijuana establishment? 

Yes.  State Law requires that any employee, contractor, or volunteer working at a medical 
marijuana establishment obtain and maintain a State medical marijuana establishment 
agent registration card.  Agent registration cards are issued for each type of medical 
marijuana establishment (i.e., the four types of medical marijuana establishments, see 
question 1).  This card is obtained from the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral 
Health.  More information on the agent registration card is available on the Division’s web 
page at health.nv.gov/medicalmarijuana.htm. 

Additionally, Washoe County Code requires that any agent, employee or volunteer 
working at a medical marijuana establishment obtain and maintain a Washoe County 
Sheriff’s Office registration card.  To apply for a registration card, the agent, employee or 
volunteer must provide: 

 A copy of their valid State medical marijuana establishment agent registration 
card. 

 A completed personal history on a form provided by the Sheriff’s Office. 

 The proper fees as required by the Sheriff’s Office. 

The registration card will note the agent, employee or volunteer’s role at the medical 
marijuana establishment.  Agents, employees and volunteers must display the valid 
registration card on their person while working at the establishment. 

8. Are there Washoe County regulations governing the operation of a medical marijuana 
establishment business? 

Yes.  Washoe County regulations governing the operation of a medical marijuana 
establishment business include: 

 The Washoe County license division may require warning signs to be posted in the 
establishment.  Any such warning signs are stipulated in the business license 
application packet. 

 Medical marijuana dispensaries may only be open from 6:00 a.m. until 8:00 p.m., 
or the hours of operation approved by the Nevada Division of Public and 
Behavioral Health, whichever time frame is shorter.  Hours of operation must be 
visible to people entering the dispensary. 

 Any graffiti appearing on a medical marijuana establishment must be removed or 
covered.  Such removal or coverage must happen within 48 hours after it is 
discovered or when notice is given by the Washoe County Sheriff’s Office. 

 Medical marijuana may not be smoked, eaten or consumed on the premises of a 
medical marijuana establishment. 

 No person under 18 years of age may be in a medical marijuana establishment 
unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. 

 Medical marijuana paraphernalia or other supplies may only be sold or given to 
patients or caregivers with a valid State medical marijuana registry identification 
card. 
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 Medical marijuana or associated paraphernalia cannot be visible from outside of 
the licensed medical marijuana establishment. 

 The medical marijuana establishment must prominently display its current State 
registration certificate, its current Washoe County business license, and any other 
State or County permits or licenses required to operate the establishment. 

 The medical marijuana establishment must maintain a valid industrial waste 
permit from the Washoe County Environmental Health Division. 

 A medical marijuana establishment producing edible or drinkable medical 
marijuana products must maintain a valid commercial kitchen permit from the 
Washoe County Environmental Health Division. 

The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health regulates the operations of medical 
marijuana establishments.  You must also comply with these State regulations. 

9. I plan to operate a medical marijuana cultivation facility in unincorporated Washoe 
County.  How do I obtain marijuana plants, seeds or clippings to start operating? 

Washoe County is not a resource for the marijuana growing process and does not have 
any information to provide patients or cultivation facility operators.  You should contact 
the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health or a private attorney for the rules and 
regulations pertinent to the marijuana growing process. 

10. I plan to operate a medical marijuana dispensary and a medical marijuana cultivation 
facility at the same address in unincorporated Washoe County.  Do I need a separate 
Washoe County business license for each establishment? 

Yes.  Each proposed medical marijuana establishment requires a separate Washoe County 
medical marijuana business license application, and separate review and approvals.  State 
Law (NRS 453A.350) requires that each medical marijuana establishment be in a separate 
building or facility.  The Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health has provided 
regulations and policies to better define this section of State Law.  The Division or a 
private attorney should be consulted for any opportunities or limitations for more than 
one medical marijuana establishment at the same address. 

11. I operate a licensed medical marijuana dispensary in the City of Reno (or Sparks).  I want 
to deliver medical marijuana to authorized patients living in unincorporated Washoe 
County.  Do I need a separate Washoe County business license? 

Yes.  However, you only need a Washoe County general business license, and not a 
Washoe County medical marijuana establishment business license. 

As long as you have a valid State registration certificate and valid City licenses and/or 
permits, you must obtain a Washoe County general business license to deliver medical 
marijuana to a: 

 Registered and licensed medical marijuana establishment, 

 Patient with a valid State medical marijuana registry identification card; or 
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 Designated primary caregiver with a valid State medical marijuana registry 
identification card,  

within unincorporated Washoe County. 

12. Do I have to allow County officials to inspect my license medical marijuana 
establishment? 

Yes.  County Code states that your submission of, and subsequent approval of, a Washoe 
County medical marijuana establishment business license constitutes permission for 
certain County officials to inspect your licensed establishment.  These County officials 
include: 

 The Washoe County license division; 

 The Washoe County Sheriff; 

 The Truckee Meadows Fire Protection District Fire Marshall; 

 The North Lake Tahoe Fire Protection District Fire Marshall; 

 The Washoe County District Health Officer; and/or 

 The designated staff of these agencies and officials. 

These inspections may be with or without notice, and include required annual inspections 
for business license, safety, health, and sanitation. 

13. What is required to renew my Washoe County medical marijuana establishment 
business license? 

All Washoe County business license holders must provide their preceding year’s annual 
gross receipts as part of their license renewal.  The renewal fee is based on the reported 
annual gross receipts.  Additionally, a medical marijuana establishment business license 
holder must provide a copy of their valid, renewed State registration certificate.  The 
license will be renewed after all fees are paid and the registration certificate is validated. 

14. What happens to my Washoe County medical marijuana establishment business license 
if my State registration certificate is revoked or not renewed? 

Your Washoe County medical marijuana establishment business license is immediately 
revoked when Washoe County is notified that your State registration certificate is 
revoked, has not been renewed, or is no longer valid.  There is no appeal to the Washoe 
County Board of County Commissioners for this type of business license revocation.  The 
revocation is, however, subject to judicial review. 

15. Can my Washoe County medical marijuana establishment business license be revoked 
or my application denied? 

Yes.  In addition to the revocation provision discussed in question 10, your Washoe 
County medical marijuana establishment business license may be revoked for various 
events.  These events are outlined in Washoe County Code Section 25.700(12) and include 
the following as examples (please read the Code section for the complete list): 



Washoe County MME Common Questions June 2014 page 9 

 Selling or dispensing medical marijuana to a person without a valid State medical 
marijuana registry identification card. 

 Employing or using an agent, employee or volunteer who does not possess a valid 
State medical marijuana establishment agent registration card or a valid Washoe 
County Sheriff’s Office registration card. 

 Not allowing Washoe County inspectors to conduct required inspections or to 
investigate complaints, and/or failing to issue visitor identification cards to 
Washoe County inspectors. 

Revocation action requires a public hearing before the Washoe County Board of County 
Commissioner following a process outlined in the Washoe County business license 
ordinance.   

Washoe County will notify the Nevada Division of Public and Behavioral Health if your 
Washoe County medical marijuana establishment business license is revoked.  

The Washoe County license division may deny your Washoe County medical marijuana 
establishment business license application or your establishment’s license renewal.  The 
factors which cause an application or license renewal denial are outlined in Washoe 
County Code Section 25.700(14).  The denial may be appealed to the Washoe County 
Board of County Commissioners. 

I did not see my question, now what? 

Please contact the Business License offices, Monday through Friday, 8:00 a.m. through 
5:00 p.m. Pacific Time at 775.328.3733.  We will be happy to help you. 

 


