

WASHOE COUNTY

Integrity Communication Service

STAFF REPORT BOARD MEETING DATE: May 24, 2022

- **DATE:** April 26, 2022
 - **TO:** Board of County Commissioners
- **FROM:** Trevor Lloyd, Planning Manager, Planning & Building Division, Community Services Department, 328-3617, tlloyd@washoecounty.gov
- **THROUGH:** Mojra Hauenstein, Arch., Planner, Division Director, Planning & Building Division, Community Services Dept., 328-3619, mhauenstein@washoecounty.gov
 - **SUBJECT:** Recommendation, pursuant to NRS 278.0262(c) and related authorities, to appoint Francine Donshick, current member of the Washoe County Planning Commission, to the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission for a term beginning July 1, 2022 and ending June 30, 2025; or until such time as a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. The current list of Regional Planning Commission alternates approved by the Board of County Commissioners are: First Alternate: Francine Donshick, Second Alternate: Larry Peyton; Third Alternate: Pat Phillips, Fourth Alternate: Michael Flick. (All Commission Districts.)

SUMMARY

The Board of County Commissioners (Board) is asked to appoint Francine Donshick to a seat held by Washoe County on the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission (RPC).

Washoe County Strategic Objective supported by this item: Regional and community leadership.

PREVIOUS ACTION

On September 8, 2021, the Board set the list of alternates to the RPC as follows: First Alternate: Francine Donshick, Second Alternate: Larry Peyton; Third Alternate: Pat Phillips, Fourth Alternate: Michael Flick

On May 19, 2019, the Board appointed Larry Chesney to a second full term on the RPC starting July 1, 2019 and ending on June 30, 2022.

BACKGROUND

Pursuant to NRS 278.0262(c), the Board appoints three members from the Washoe County Planning Commission (PC) to represent Washoe County on the RPC, at least two of which must be residents of the unincorporated County. Since all PC members are

unincorporated County residents, this requirement is fulfilled. RPC member terms are three years in length and are staggered. At the present time, the Regional Planning Commissioners representing Washoe County are:

Name	Term
Larry Chesney	July 2019 – June 2022
Sarah Chvilicek	July 2020 – June 2023
Kate Nelson	July 2021 – June 2024

Ms. Donshick is serving her second full term on the Planning Commission which began July 1, 2020 and ends June 30, 2024.

Should the Board agree with staff's recommendation, the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commissioners representing Washoe County would be:

Name	Term
Sarah Chvilicek	July 2020 – June 2023
Kate Nelson	July 2021 – June 2024
Francine Donshick	July 2022 – June 2025

FISCAL IMPACT

Regional Planning Commission members are compensated at a rate of \$80.00 per meeting pursuant to NRS 278.0262(4). The RPC typically meets six times a year, which equates to an annual compensation of \$480 per member. Funds to compensate Washoe County appointed RPC members for scheduled meetings are included as part of the FY 2022-2023 Budget in CSD Planning & Development Admin (105400), Contracted/Temp Services (710110).

RECOMMENDATION

It is recommended, pursuant to NRS 278.0262(c) and related authorities, to appoint Francine Donshick, current member of the Washoe County Planning Commission, to the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission for a term beginning July 1, 2022 and ending June 30, 2025; or until such time as a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first. The current list of Regional Planning Commission alternates approved by the Board of County Commissioners are: First Alternate: Francine Donshick, Second Alternate: Larry Peyton (Larry's Term on the Planning Commission ends June 30, 2022); Third Alternate: Pat Phillips, Fourth Alternate: Michael Flick.

POSSIBLE MOTION

Should the Board agree with staff's recommendation, a possible motion would be:

"Pursuant to NRS 278.0262(c) and related authorities, I move to appoint Francine Donshick, current member of the Washoe County Planning Commission, to the Truckee Meadows Regional Planning Commission for a term beginning July 1, 2022 and ending June 30, 2025; or until such time as a successor is appointed, whichever occurs first."

Attachment A: Francine Donshick PC Application

cc: Francine Donshick Jeremy Smith, Executive Director, TMRPA